Dhaka, Wed, Jun 2018


Sri Lanka 238/7 at stumps vs Bangladesh after day 1

15 March 2017,Wednesday, 18:23

Bangladesh bowlers showed good form in their landmark 100th Test as they restricted Sri Lanka to 238/7 in their first innings at stumps on day 1 in their 2nd and last Test of the Joy Bangla Cup series at P Sara Oval, Colombo on Wednesday, UNB reports.

Dinesh Chandimal remained at the crease playing a long innings of 210 balls for 86, involving four boundaries, while skipper Rangana Herath is with him having scrapped 18 runs in an 8th wicket partnership till now worth 43, frustrating Bangladesh’s bowlers for 18.3 overs and leaving them without any breakthrough in the last hour.

Prior to that this morning, Cutter Master Mustafizur Rahman made the 1st breakthrough for Bangladesh with his 4th ball of the 5th over, dismissing opener Dimuth Karunaratne (7) in the 8th over of the innings.

D Karunaratne was caught by Mehedi Hasan Miraz at gully when he was trying to play a cover drive off Mustafiz, leaving the team collection at 13 runs.

Young off-spinner Miraz departed the 2nd pair by a tricky delivery in his 5th ball of 3rd overs picking up Kusal Mendis, stumped by skipper Mushfiqur Rahim, at 24/2 in 11.5 overs.

Miraz roared again in the innings 16th over for the continuation of his show dismissing left-hand batsman Upul Tharanga (11) who was caught by Soumya Sarkar to depart from the 3rd pair at 35/3 in 15.2 overs.

Tigers’ pacer Subashis Roy hunted the Lankan batsman Asela Gunaratne (13) by lbw as the last wicket before the lunch at 70/4 in 27.4 overs.

The 5th pair between Dinesh Chandimal and Dhananjaya de Silva resumed the innings after lunch and contributed a figure of 66 in 19.4 overs to carry the team collection to 136/5 in 47.2 overs.

Left arm spinner Taijul Islam departed the top-contributing 5th pair bowling out DM de Silva who stayed for 34 off 54balls, including five boundaries.

After DM de Silva, Niroshan Dickwella came and played with LD Chandimal up to 180/6 in 59.1 overs.

N Dickwella was bowled out by all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan adding 34 off 37 balls, including four boundaries, for the for the side opened the 1st innings with bat after winning the toss on the day.

Dilruwan Perera (9) failed stay with Dinesh Chandimal in the 7th pair as he was caught by Soumya Sarkar off Mustafizur’s bowling at 195/7 in 64.4 overs, from where Dinesh Chandimal and Rangana Herath started their composures.

Mustafizur Rahman and Mehedi Hasan Miraz captured two wickets each for 32 and 58 runs while Taijul Islam, Shakib Al Hasan and Subashis Roy took one wicket apiece conceding 34, 43 and 47 runs respectively.

Brief Score:

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 238/7 in 83.1 overs at stumps; Dinesh Chandimal 86*, Dhananjaya de Silva 34, Niroshan Dickwella 34, Rangana Herath 18*, Asela Gunaratne 13, Upul Tharanga 11, Mustafizur Rahman 2/32, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 2/58, Taijul Islam 1/34, Shakib Al Hasan 1/43, Subashis Roy 1/47.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2018