Dhaka, Wed, Jun 2018


Tigers collect 214/5 against Sri Lanka’s 338

16 March 2017,Thursday, 18:05

Bangladesh were trailing by 124 runs with five wickets in hand in the 1st innings after day-2 against Sri Lanka’s 338 in the 2nd and last Test of the Joy Bangla Cup series at P Sara Oval, Colombo on Thursday, UNB reports.

Shakib Al Hasan and skipper Mushfiqur Rahim were bating with 18 and 2 runs respectively when the bails were drawn for the 2nd day.

Opening the 1st innings after lunch on the day, Bangladesh played 60 overs in two sessions for their collection of 214/5 at stumps.

Soumya Sarkar showed a consistent form becoming the highest run getter (185) in the series for Bangladesh so far with the three successive half centuries in three innings. He stayed for 61 runs in the 1st innings on the day, following 71 and 53 runs in the two innings of Galle Test which Bangladesh lost by 259 runs.

For his 4th Test half century, Soumya Sarkar faced 121 balls on the day and fired six boundaries before being bowled out by Lakshan Sandakan to depart from the 2nd pair at 130/2 in 41.3 overs.

After the departure of Soumya, Bangladesh’s three batters -- Imrul Kayes, Taijul Islam and Sabbir Rahman -- were out within a span of six runs in six balls from 192/3 in 56.4 overs to 198/5 in 57.4 overs.

Bangladesh faced the first jolt losing their highest Test run (3595) getter Tamim Iqbal who scored two runs off Suranga Lakmal’s 4th ball in the innings very first over to open the account in the Tigers landmark 100th Test was out for 49 runs on the day at 95/1 in 27.4 overs.

Tamim departed from the opening pair, firing six boundaries off 91 balls, as he was trapped lbw off Lankan skipper Rangana Herath’s spin bowling.

Sabbir Rahman scored 42 off 54 balls, including five boundaries, and was caught by

Dhananjaya de Silva off Suranga Lakmal’s bowling at 198/5 in 57.4 overs.

Imrul Kayes stayed for 34 runs while Taijul Islam left the crease with duck, both were lbw by Lakshan Sandakan.

Lakshan Sandakan captured three wickets for 65 runs while Suranga Lakmal and Rangana Herath took one wicket each for 32 and 34 runs respectively.

Earlier, Dinesh Chandimal's century of 138 helped Sri Lanka raise their tally to 338 for all in 113.3 overs in the first innings that ended at lunch on the 2nd day.

Resuming the innings with their overnight score of 238/7 in 83.1 overs, the hosts played 30.2 overs more on the 2nd day's first session to add 100 runs more for the cost of three wickets.

Spin all-rounder Shakib Al Hasan dismissed skipper Rangana Herath (25 off 91b; 2x4), who was caught by Soumya Sarkar, to break the overnight 8th pair that contributed 55 runs in 26.3 overs to carry the team total to 250/8 in 91.1 overs starting from 195/7 in 64.4 overs.

Another overnight batsman Chandimal continued his composure scoring 138 off 300 balls, featuring 10 boundaries and one six to hit his 8th Test century.

Young spin all-rounder Mehedi Hasan Miraz took the scalp of Chandimal, who was caught by Mosaddek Hossain as his 3rd wicket.

The Tigers’ bowlers were looking hapless in the innings’ last seven overs, giving the Lankan pace bowler Suranga Lakmal an opportunity to play his Test best score of 35 from 45 balls, including two boundaries and one over boundary.

Pace bowler Subashis Roy rescued the Tigers from humiliation dismissing Suranga Lakmal who was caught by Soumya Sarkar at Sri Lanka's final collection at 338/10 in 113.3 overs.

Miraz captured three wickets for 90 runs while Mustafizur, Subashis and Shakib bagged two wickets each for 50, 53 and 80 runs respectively. Taijul Islam took one wicket conceding 34 runs.

Miraz captured three wickets for 90 runs while Mustafizur, Subashis and Shakib bagged two wickets each for 50, 53 and 80 runs respectively. Taijul Islam took one wicket conceding 34 runs.

Brief Score:

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 338/10 in 113.3 overs (overnight 238/7 in 83.1 overs); Dinesh Chandimal 138, Suranga Lakmal 35, Dhananjaya de Silva 34, Niroshan Dickwella 34, Rangana Herath 25, Asela Gunaratne 13, Upul Tharanga 11, Mehedi Hasan Miraz 3/90, Mustafizur Rahman 2/50, Subashis Roy 2/53, Shakib Al Hasan 2/80, Taijul Islam 1/34.

Bangladesh 1st innings: 214/5 in 60 overs at stumps; Soumya Sarkar 61, Tamim Iqbal 49, Sabbir Rahman 42, Imrul Kayes 34, Shakib Al Hasan 18*, Mushfiqur Rahim 2*, Lakshan Sandakan 3/65, Suranga Lakmal 1/32, Rangana Herath 1/34.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2018