Dhaka, Sat, Nov 2018


BPL: Comilla on top with 12-run win against Dhaka

29 November 2017,Wednesday, 22:53

Comilla Victorians top the points table of the 5th Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) after the end of the Chittagong phase as they handed a 12-run defeat to defending champions Dhaka Dynamites in the 34th match of the seven-team affair at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Cricket Stadium on Wednesday, UNB reports.

Comilla Victorians have 14 points from nine games, having seven wins and two losses, followed by Khulna Titans with 13 points from 10 outings registering six wins, three losses and one no result. Dhaka Dynamites remained in their previous 3rd spot with 11 points from 10 games having five wins, four losses and one no result.

With this match, the 10-match Chittagong phase of the league ended and the tournament is moving to Dhaka for the remaining 12 matches, including the final of the seven-team meet.

In the day’s match, Comilla Victorians restricted Dhaka Dynamites to 155 for 8 in 20 overs after posting a score of 167 runs.

Joe Denly top-scored 49 off 39 balls with six boundaries and two sixes and was bowled out by Mohammad Saifuddin on 83/5 in 12.1 overs. Kieron Pollard (27 off 21b; 2x4; 1x6), Mosaddek Hossain and Jahurul Islam added 17 runs each to be other double digit scorers for the losers.

Man of the match Dwayne Bravo captured three wickets for 31 runs while Mohammad Saifuddin bagged two for 18 runs. Shoaib Malik took another one for 26 runs for the winners.

Sent in to bat first, Comilla Victorians scored 167 for 6 in 20 overs riding on the opening pair stand of 60 off 7.2 overs between skipper Tamim Iqbal and Liton Kumar Das.

Tamim was caught by Mosaddek Hossain off skipper Shakib Al Hasan to break the opening stand after scoring 37 off 23 balls, including five boundaries.

Marlon Samuels (39 off 27b; 5x4; 2x6), Liton Kumar (34 off 30b; 3x4) and Imrul Kayes (26 off 24b; 2x4; 1x6) were the other double digit scorers for the side.

Kevon Cooper captured three wickets for 42 runs while Shakib got two for 23 runs. Both bowled four overs each.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2018