Dhaka, Thu, Jan 2019


Mirpur Test day2: Lankans take control in series decider

Sri Lanka (222 & 200/8 * in 62nd over) vs Bangladesh (110)

09 February 2018,Friday, 19:49

Sri Lankans took control in the series decider of a two-Test series against host Bangladesh as they extended their lead to 312 runs, with two wickets in hand, form 112 in the 2nd innings after the second day’s play at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur on Friday, UNB reports.

Having 222 runs in the 1st innings, Sri Lanka opened the second innings just two overs before the end of the second day’s first session and at stumps with scored 200/8 * in 62 overs at the end of the day.

Roshen Silva (58* off 94b; 9x4) and Suranga Lakmal (7*) were at the crease when the bails were drawn for the 2nd day’s play.

Sri Lanka resumed the day’s 3rd session with 87/3 in 30th over at tea break and for the cost of five wickets they added 113 runs more in the 3rd session of 32 overs to enhance their lead.

Bangladesh’s cutter master Mustafizur Rahman missed a hat-trick opportunity in the 3rd session as he missed out Suranga Lakmal, after two successive wickets -- Dilruwan Perera and debut all-rounder Akila Dananjaya in his 2nd and 3rd balls of the 10th over to see the Lankans on 178/8 in 55.3 overs in the innings.

Both batsmen -- Dilruwan Perera and Akila Dananjaya – were caught behind by Liton Kumar Das.

On his way to 3/35 in 12 overs, Mustafiz lbw Danushka Gunathilaka (17 off 27b; 1x4) on 80/3 in 25.5 overs as his first one.

The day’s big hitter Roshen Silva shared a partnership of 51 off 14 overs in the 5th wicket before skipper Dinseh Chandimal (30 off 54b; 3x4) was lbw by Mehidy Hasan Miraz, who made the breakthrough in the 3rd session. The 5th wicket pair started from 92/4 in 32.3 overs and ended on 143/5 in 46.3 overs.

Taijul Islam got his 2nd one -- Niroshan Dickwella (10 off 18b), was caught by skipper Mahmudullah Riyad, on 170/6 in 53.1 overs.

At tea break Sri Lanka extended their lead to 199 runs with 7 wickets in hand, scoring 87/3 in a 30th over innings where Mustafiz got Danushka Gunathilaka after Taijul Islam bowled out Dhananjaya de Silva (28 off 24b; 5x4) on 53/2 in 16.4 overs and country’s veteran spinner Abdur Razzak lbw Kusal Mendis for the first breakthrough on 19/1 6.5 overs.

Earlier, Bangladesh resumed the 1st innings on the second day with overnight score of 56/4 in 22 overs and finished on 110/10 in 45.4 overs, giving Sri Lanka a 112-run lead in the 1st innings, before the lunch break.

The Tigers went through a messy innings of 23.4 overs, losing six wickets for 54 runs on the day where overnight Mehidy Hasan Miraz (38* off 78 b; 2x4; 1x6) was the only batsman could hold the nerves till the end to add 33 runs more with his overnight collection.

Another overnight batsman Liton Kumar Das (25 off 54b; 3x4) played 11 balls on the day’s innings to add one run more with his previous score before being bowled out by Suranga Lakmal on 73/5 in 27overs.

Skipper Mahmudullah Riyad (17 off 46b; 2x4) was bowled out by debut all-rounder Akila Dananjaya, giving a 46-ball company to Miraz to carry the team collection to 107/6 in 42.2 overs from where Akila started his spin show of 3 for 20 in 10 overs.

The Tigers lost their five wickets--Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rathhman, Abdur Razzak, Taijul Islam and Mustafizur Rahman -- within a span of three runs off 3.1 overs, from 107/6 in 42.2 overs to 110/10 in 45.4 overs, to end the innings with shame.

Akila Dananjaya and Suranga Lakmal equally shared six wickets in the innings conceding 20 and 25 runs respectively while Dilruwan Perera got two wickets for 32 runs.

Brief score:

Sri Lanka 1st innings: 222/10 in 65.3 overs; Kusal Mendis 68, Roshen Silva 56, Dilruwan Perera 31, Abdur Razzak 4/63, Taijul Islam4/83, Mustafizur Rahman 2/17.

Sri Lanka 2nd innings: 200/8 * in 62 overs, at stumps; Roshen Silva 58*, Suranga Lakmal 7*, Dimuth Karunaratne 32, Dinesh Chandimal 30, Dhananjaya de Silva 28, Danushka Gunathilaka 17, Niroshan Dickwella 10, Mustafizur Rahman 3/35, Mehidy Hasan Miraz 2/29, Taijul Islam 2/72, Abdur Razzak 1/60.

Bangladesh 1st innings: 110/10 in 45.4 overs (overnight 56/4 in 22 overs); Mehidy Hasan Miraz 38*, Liton Kumar Das 25, Imrul Kayes 19, Mahmudullah Riyad 17, Akila Dananjaya 3/20, Suranga Lakmal 3/25, Dilruwan Perera 2/32.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2019