Dhaka, Thu, Mar 2019


Sri Lanka complete clean sweep of Tigers in T20I series

They beat Bangladesh by 75 runs in 2nd match

18 February 2018,Sunday, 19:39

Bangladesh lost the two-match T20I series 2-0 against visiting Sri Lanka conceding a 75-run defeat in the 2nd match at Sylhet International Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

In the run-feast first T20I at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka on Thursday, Sri Lanka beat the Tigers by six wickets, reports UNB.

Sri Lanka started the new year campaign securing the seven-match ODI tri-series beating hosts Bangladesh by 79 runs in the final and then got a 1-0 victory in the two-match Test series before the 2-0 win against Bangladesh.

In the last T20I, chasing a target of 211 runs for the victory, Bangladesh finished their innings on 135/10 in 18.4 overs where skipper Mahmudullah Riyad was the notable scorer with 41 off 31 balls, including four boundaries and one six.

Opener Tamim Iqbal (29 off 23b; 2x4; 2x6), Mohammad Saifuddin (20 off 21b; 1x4; 1x6) and Mahedi Hasan(11 off 11b; 1x4) were the other batters who could reach the double digit.

Danushka Gunathilaka got two wickets for three runs off four balls while Shehan Madushanka (2/23), Dasun Shanaka (1/5), Jeevan Mendis (1/8), Isuru Udana (1/12), Akila Dananjaya (1/20) and debutant Amila Aponso (1/31) were the other wicket takers for Sri Lanka.

Earlier, sent in to bat first, Sri Lanka posted a mammoth total of 210 for four in 20 overs where Kusal Mendis hit a half century of 70 off 42 balls, including six boundaries and three boundaries, and shared a 98-run partnership off 11 overs in the opening stand with Danushka Gunathilaka.

Kusal Mendis who scored 53 runs off 27 balls in the first T20I was adjudged player of the series and man of the match in the final game.

Soumya Sarkar made the first breakthrough for Bangladesh in the last ball of his first over as he sent off opener Danushka Gunathilaka (42 off 37b; 3x4; 2x6) who was caught by Tamim Iqbal.

Mendis was caught by debutant Mahedi Hasan off Mustafizur Rahman at 160/3 in 16.3 overs.

Kusal Mendis continued his composure in the next wicket stand with Thisara Perera (31 off 17b; 3x4; 1x6) to carry the team collection to 149/2 in 15.3 overs before debutant pacer Abu Jayed found Thisara Perera, who was caught by Soumya.

Starting after the dismissal of Mendis, Dasun Shanaka (30* off 11b; 5x4; 1x6) and Upul Tharanga (25 off 13b; 4x4; 1x6) shared a quick partnership of 45 off 3.1 overs in the 4th wicket stand before Upul Tharanga was caught by Soumya off Mohammad Saifuddin at 205/4 in 19.4 overs.

Soumya, Mustafizur, Abu Jayed and Saifuddin equally shared four wickets for 25, 39, 45 and 46 runs respectively.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2019