Dhaka, Thu, Mar 2019


Tigers face Sri Lanka Saturday, look to turn their form

09 March 2018,Friday, 21:11

Bangladesh will face host Sri Lanka in the 3rd T20I of the tri-nation Nidahas Trophy at the R Premadasa Stadium in Colombo on Saturday.

The match will begin at 7:30pm (Bangladesh time).

Bangladesh and Sri Lanka are at opposite ends of the confidence spectrum as they face up in the Nidahas Trophy. The visiting side could not register win in any international match since January 23. Tigers lost two ODIs, two Tests and three T20s at home. They lost 13 of their last 14 T20Is and will need to find ways to get back their form.

Sri Lanka on the other hand looked like complete reverse with their success in Bangladesh. The host also secured a five-wicket win against India in the opener of the seven-match Nidahas Trophy showing their level of confidence while Bangladesh started the tournament campaign conceding a six-wicket loss against India on Thursday.

Bangladesh pace bowler Taskin Ahmed said, “We have to bowl better, but I guess we should have scored more runs (in the previous game) too. It is a good wicket, so chasing 170-180 isn't that hard.”

Tamim Iqbal crossed 12 innings without a 50-plus score in T20Is, since scoring an unbeaten century against Oman at the 2016 World T20.

Soumya Sarkar was Bangladesh's top scorer in T20 internationals in 2017, despite not holding on to his place in the Test and ODI teams. He has crossed 40 runs mark three times in his last five innings, and will be expected to carry that form forward.

After missing out much of Sri Lanka's tour of Bangladesh due to injury, Kusal Perera stormed back into international cricket with a quick-firing 66 against India. More fireworks will be expected on Saturday.

The Tigers have no worry of in their bowling department, but could plenty of loopholes to set their batting line-up.

Sri Lanka may switch Nuwan Pradeep with Suranga Lakmal to boost their pace attack.

Bangladesh XI (probable): Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Liton Kumar Das, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad (captain), Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan, Mustafizur Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain and Nazmul Islam.

Sri Lanka XI (probable): Danushka Gunathilaka, Kusal Mendis, Kusal Perera, Dinesh Chandimal (captain), Upul Tharanga, Dasun Shanaka, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Akila Dananjaya, Dushmantha Chameera and Nuwan Pradeep.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2019