Dhaka, Sat, Mar 2019


President Hamid begins second term in office; takes oath

24 April 2018,Tuesday, 19:50

President Abdul Hamid taking oath for the second term at Bangabhaban Tuesday.

President Abdul Hamid taking oath for the second term at Bangabhaban Tuesday.

President M Abdul Hamid on Tuesday evening took oath as head of the state for the second consecutive term.

Jatiya Sangsad Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the oath of office to him at the Darbar Hall of Bangabhaban at 7:43pm.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, the Chief Justice, Deputy Leader in Parliament Syeda Sajeda Chowdhury, cabinet members, advisers to the PM, lawmakers, chiefs of the three services, senior politicians, former ministers, foreign diplomats, editors and other dignitaries were present at the oath-taking ceremony.

Finding no other candidate in the presidential race, Returning Officer of the presidential election and Chief Election Commissioner KM Nurul Huda on February 7 last announced ruling Awami League candidate M Abdul Hamid elected unopposed as President of Bangladesh for the second consecutive term.

The present five-year tenure of Abdul Hamid expired today as he took office on April 24, 2013.

According to article 123 of the Constitution, the presidential election shall be held between 90 and 60 days before expiry of the five-year term.

According to Bangabhaban website, Md Abdul Hamid was born on January 1, 1944 at Kamalpur in Mithamain upazila under Kishoreganj district. His father's name is late Hazi Md Tayeb Uddin while mother's late Tomiza Khatun.

He obtained BA degree from Gurudayal College of Kishoreganj and LLB degree from Central Law College under the Dhaka University. On completion of his education, he engaged himself in the profession of law.

Hamid started his political career in 1959 by joining the then student front Chhatra League. He was the founder President of Chhatra League of Kishoreganj Sub-division unit in 1964 and elected Vice-President of Chhatra League of Mymensingh district unit in 1966-67. He was imprisoned in 1968 for leading the then student movement. He joined Awami League at the end of 1969.

Hamid, a valiant freedom fighter, was the President of Kishoreganj district Awami League from 1978 to 2009 and the President of Kishoreganj District Bar Association for five times during 1990-96.

In the Pakistan National Assembly election of 1970, Hamid was elected the junior-most member from Mymensingh-18 constituency. In 1972, he became the Member of Constituent Assembly. As a pro-people and grassroots-level popular leader of Bangladesh Awami League, he was elected Member of Parliament for several times.

In the general elections of 1973, 1986, 1991, 1996, 2001 and 2009, he was elected Member of Parliament from Kishoreganj-5 as an Awami League nominee.

Abdul Hamid was unanimously elected Deputy Speaker in the 7th Parliament on July 13, 1996 and held the post till July 10, 2001. Later, he became Speaker of Parliament on July 12, 2001 and remained so till October 28, 2001. In the 8th Parliament, he served as the Deputy Leader of the Opposition from November 1, 2001 to October 27, 2006.

He was elected Speaker in the 9th Parliament and served office from 2009 to 2013.

Abdul Hamid took the responsibility of President in-charge on March 14, 2013 when then President Md Zillur Rahman was under treatment in Singapore. After the death of Zillur Rahman on March 20, 2013 in Singapore, Hamid became acting President from that day. Later, he was elected President uncontested as the President of Bangladesh on April 22, 2013.

He was sworn in to the office of President of Bangladesh on April 24, 2013.

List of Former Presidents

Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (from 26-03-1971 to 12-01-1972), Syed Nazrul Islam (Acting President) (26-03-1971 to 10-01-1972), Justice Abu Sayeed Chowdhory (12-01-1972 to 17-12-1972, 17-12-1972 to 10-04-1973 and 10-04-1973 to 24-12-1973), Speaker Mohammadullah (President in charge) (24-12-1973 to 27-01-1974), Mohammadullah (27-01-1974 to 25-01-1975), Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (25-01-1975 to 15-08-1975), Khandker Mustaque Ahmad (15-08-1975 to 06-11-1975), Justice Abu Sadat Mohammad Sayem (06-11-1975 to 21-04-1977), Major General Ziaur Rahman, (21-04-1977 to 12-06-1978 and 12-06-1978 to 30-05-1981), Justice Abdus Sattar (Acting President) (30-05-1981 to 20-11-1981), Justice Abdus Sattar (20-11-1981 to 24-03-1982), Justice Abul Fazal Mohammad Ahsanuddin Choudhury (27-03-1982 to 11-12-1983), Lt General Hussain Muhammad Ershad (11-12-1983 to 23-10-1986), Hussain Muhammad Ershad (23-10-1986 to 06-12-1990), Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed (Acting President) (06-12-1990 to 09-10-1991), Abdur Rahman Biswas (09-10-1991 to 09-10-1996), Justice Shahabuddin Ahmed (09-10-1996 to 14-11-2001), AQM Badruddoza Chowdhury (14-11-2001 to 21-06-2002), Speaker Barrister Mohammad Jamiruddin Sircar (President-in-charge) (21-06-2002 to 06-09-2002), Professor Dr. Iajuddin Ahmed (06-09-2002 to 12-02-2009) and Md. Zillur Rahman (12-02-2009 to 20-03-2013).


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2019