Dhaka, Tue, Apr 2019


PM asks 4 technocrat ministers to step down

06 November 2018,Tuesday, 16:26

From left, Motiur Rahman, Nurul Islam,Yafes Osman and Mustafa Jabbar.

From left, Motiur Rahman, Nurul Islam,Yafes Osman and Mustafa Jabbar.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has asked the four technocrat ministers of the current cabinet to quit.

Awami League general secretary Obaidul Quader came up with the disclosure while talking to reporters at Ganobhaban after the Cabinet meeting.

He, however, said the other ministers will remain there as usual in their respective posts.

The four technocrat ministers are Religious Affairs Minister Principal Motiur Rahman, Posts, Telecommunications and Information Technology Minister Mustafa Jabbar, Expatriates' Welfare and Overseas Employment Minister Nurul Islam BSc. and Science and Technology Minister Yafes Osman.

The latest political development came amid widespread speculations that the Dr Kamal-Hossain-led Jatiya Oikyafront may place a proposal on Wednesday during the talks with the Prime Minister to form an election-time cabinet inducting some ministers from the opposition parties.

Quader said they may sit in talks for several times with their alliance partners to settle the seat-sharing issue.

Once the dialogue is over, he said, the Prime Minister will deliver a winding-up speech over the outcomes of the ongoing political dialogue at a press conference at Ganobhaban at 12 noon on Thursday.

He also said there is no scope for holding any more dialogue after Wednesday next.


Other News


Editor: Alamgir Mohiuddin,

Publisher: Shamsul Huda, FCA

1 R. K. Mission Road, Dhaka-1203.

© All rights reserved | dailynayadiganta.com 2019