17 August 2022

Tigers close to hunt Windies

All-rounder Shakib Al Hasan reached his ninth ODI century off 83 balls, assuming Tigers fierce in chasing Windies 321
Shakib Al Hasan plays a shot against the West Indies - Photo: Reuters

40, BD 305/3: After Shakib's ton Liton reaches his fifty off 43 deliveries. His ininnings features five fours and a six.

Shakib Al Hasan reached his ninth ODI ton off 83 balls as Tigers look strong in chase of Windies 321.

The all-rounder has traded in boundaries hitting 13 fours. Liton Das has partnered him well at the other end as Bangladesh get closer to their target of 322.

The innings also means that Shakib is back at the top highest run getters’ list at this World Cup. He becomes only the second Bangladesh player to hit two tons in a single edition of the World Cup after Mahmudullah Riyad.

Bangladesh openers Tamim Iqbal and Soumya Sarkar started confidently in pursuit of 322 runs, both openers Soumya Sarkar and Tamim iqbal are gone with Mushfiqur Rahim (1) who also back to the pavilion against West Indies in World Cup 2019 in County ground, Taunton on Monday.

Shakib al Hasan completed his 6000 ODI runs in the 15th over.

Earlier, West Indies posted a fighting total of 321 runs losing 8 wickets.

Mustafizur Rahman struck twice in one over to pick up two crucial wickets of Shimron Hetmeyer and Andre Russell.

Wicket-Keeper batsman Shai Hope is batting on 96 off 121 balls, while Shimron Hetmeyer fired a half century from just 25 balls.

West Indies opener Evin Lewis was going strong with 70 runs from 67 deliveries before he got out when he tried to hit Shakib al Hasan out of the park. Soon after, Shakib picked up Nicholas Pooran.

West Indies opener Chris Gayle was dismissed by Mohammad Saifuddin early on.

Bangladesh captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza won the toss and chose to bowl first against West Indies.

The match is crucial for both the teams, as a loss in this match can potentially mean the end of the semi-final hopes for either team.


West Indies: Chris Gayle, Evin Lewis, Darren Bravo, Shai Hope(w), Nicholas Pooran, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder(c), Andre Russell, Sheldon Cottrell, Oshane Thomas, Shannon Gabriel

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim(w), Liton Das, Mahmudullah, Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Mustafizur Rahman


More News